Black Caucus of NCTE/CCCC Executive Board

The Black Caucus of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) and the Conference on College Composition and Communication (CCCC) is a professional organization whose mission, since its 1970 founding, has been to enhance the professional welfare of English language arts professionals of African descent, who work on all levels, from kindergarten through graduate school, who are members of NCTE and CCCC, and who are committed to Black students and scholars experiencing success in English language arts.

We are here to support each other in professional growth and solidarity. The Black Caucus meets at both NCTE and CCCCs annual conventions.

Executive Board Members 

Kirkland_David 2

David Kirkland, PhD, JD
NCTE Black Caucus President
NCTE/CCCC Black Caucus Co-Chair

Associate Professor of English Education
New York University-Steinhardt
dk64@nyu.edu

 

Dr. Elaine RichardsonElaine Richardson, PhD
CCCC Black Caucus President
NCTE/CCCC Black Caucus Co-Chair

Professor of Literacy Studies
Ohio State University-Columbus
richardson.486@osu.edu

 

Ersula Ore

Ersula Ore, PhD
NCTE/CCCC Executive Treasurer

Assistant Professor of African & African American Studies and Rhetoric
Arizona State University, Tempe
ejore@asu.edu

 

Executive Secretary

Amber Pabon, PhD
NCTE Executive Secretary

Assistant Professor of Instruction & Learning
University of Pittsburgh
apabon@pitt.edu

Bean-Folkes_JaneJaneann Bean-Folks,PhD
NCTE Assistant Secretary

Assistant Professor of Language, Literacy & Special Education
Rowan University
bean-folkes@rowan.edu

 

Rhea Estelle LathanRhea Estelle Lathan, PhD
CCCC Executive Secretary

Assistant Professor of English
Florida State University
rlathan@fsu.edu

 

bonniewilliams

Bonnie Williams, PhD 
CCCC Assistant Secretary

Assistant Professor of English
California State University, Fullerton
bonniewilliams@fullerton.edu
Tisha-Lewis-Ellison
Tisha Lewis Ellison, PhD 
NCTE Membership Director

Assistant Professor of Language & Literacy Education
Georgia State University
tlewis31@gsu.edu
 

MIchelle Bacholar

Michelle Bachelor Robinson, PhD 
CCCC Membership Director

Assistant Professor of English
University of Alabama
robinson@as.ua.edu

David Green
David Green,PhD
Chair of Political Action Committee

Assistant Professor of English and Dir. of Freshman Writing
Howard University
david.f.green@howard.edu

 

Darlene Ferguson-Russell, PhD
NCTE Delegate
PhD Professor of English, Williams Patterson University
russell@wpunj.edu

Rashidah Muhammad, PhD 
CCCC Delegate
Professor of English and Secondary Education, Governor’s State University-UP
muhammad@govst.edu

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s